Reality. There are moments when it hits you like a ton of bricks. A few months ago, I had one of those moments in the realm of parenting. Over the past two years, I thought I was a pretty good mom. I of course understood that I had much to learn and that over the coming years there would be many trials. But I thought I was doing an alright job—up until the last few months that is.

You see, up until this point, I haven’t had to do much in the way of discipline. We have been blessed with an amazingly sweet and extremely cute (not that we’re biased or anything!) little girl. These days, however, I find myself wondering who replaced that joyful, cuddly little sweetheart with the little stinker who likes to tell Mommy, “NO!” and who occasionally (dare I admit it?!) tries to hit Mommy. Now don’t get me wrong, that sweet, cute, cuddly little rascal isn’t a terror, but, like all kids, she has her moments. And, to be honest, for all of the books I’ve read, people with whom I’ve talked, and experience I’ve had teaching and babysitting, I often find myself wrestling with various methods of discipline….how will it affect each child and what will the effect of that type of discipline with that particular child be? Is it the right, the best, the most effective means of training and teaching?

The questions, and they’re heavy ones, run through my mind and my heart–sometimes to the point where it’s overwhelming and I wonder if my children will ever “turn out right” … without having to carry the crushing burden of my mistakes. It’s in those moments (and in fact, every moment I am a mom), that I have to let go. All I can do is lay those worries, those fears, those dreams I have for my children at the foot of the cross, trusting that the God of the Universe and the Lover of my soul, cares far more for my children than I do (though quite impossible for me to comprehend). And HE has a plan for their future. A plan to prosper them and not to harm them, to give them hope and a future (Jer. 29:11). Even when I fail (though no excuse to not try), in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him (Ro. 8:28).

Just a few nights ago, I cried out to the Lord and surrendered my own inadequacies and uncertainties. What encouragement He brought to my heart through the words of a mommy blogger I like to read! Here’s the link to those words. “Proclaiming Our Purpose in Parenting” by Megan at SortaCrunchy. What release!

I hope you’ll visit her site and be encouraged as I was.

